About us


AddThis Feed Button



« Home | Frog juice Bug Repellent? » | Tea – A healthier Choice? » | Missing Austrian girl found – after 8 years » | The future of paper » | Fight Man - excellent game/animation » | Animal sculptures made from junk » | Dells on a plane » | Cakes that will blow you away » | Mt Everest Ordeal » | Trojan horse trick in modern times? »

Pluto - Planet No more

PlutoThe debate is now over. Leading astronomers have declared that Pluto is no longer a planet. Hence the current solar system that we are familiar with has downsized from nine to eight planets.

For now, membership will be restricted to the eight "classical" planets in the solar system: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.

Much-maligned Pluto doesn't make the grade under the new rules for a planet: "a celestial body that is in orbit around the sun, has sufficient mass for its self-gravity to overcome rigid body forces so that it assumes a ... nearly round shape, and has cleared the neighborhood around its orbit."

Pluto is automatically disqualified because its oblong orbit overlaps with Neptune's.

Instead, it will be reclassified in a new category of "dwarf planets," similar to what long have been termed "minor planets." The definition also lays out a third class of lesser objects that orbit the sun — "small solar system bodies," a term that will apply to numerous asteroids, comets and other natural satellites.

Link: CNN
Image: NASA
Related post: Pluto might be demoted, Bigger solar system?
Tags: | | | |


Links to this post

Create a Link

Local Time